Skip to content

#P90X Day 16

December 12, 2011

I completed my Plyometrics workout tonight. I seem to work a bit harder today after seeing the letter that my son brought home. The elementary school that he attends apparently tests the children’s BMI in 1st, 3rd, and 6th grades.

My son being in the 3rd grade received one of these tests. His BMI is said to be around 18. The exact number was listed, but I don’t recall what it was. According to the county health department, he is overweight. This is a little disturbing as if I had a BMI of 18, I would be average weight. To make matters worse, the school has sent home a letter that tells you how to add weight, for kids that are under weight, and how to lose weight. How do you lose weight? Well, of course, you stop feeding your children sugary foods, processed foods, red meat, ect. The problem that I have with this is that the school system provides this very food for our children to eat at breakfast and lunch. Breakfast consists of a choice of chocolate, strayberry, or white milk. Hmmmm, what will the kids choose? You can also choose a chocolate chip muffin, sausage biscuit or a bowl of sugar cereal. The fruit or fruit juice is optional. Obviously it is my role as a parent to teach my children what and what not to choose, but why kid any kid the option? Your options should be this or maybe this if you are allergic to the first option. The school system listen chicken nuggets, which I know is horrible for kids, as something to avoid feeding children. This is on the menu at least 4 times a month. Practice what you preach is all I am saying.  What are your thoughts on this?

But, I digress. I burned over 600 calories during my workout tonight. I stopped a few times to get my heart rate back to acceptable levels, but finished 100% and feel great. Hopefully I can sleep well tonight.

From → Fitness

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

