Skip to content

My son wants a #cellphone!?

December 1, 2011

I was shocked today when my son come home from school and asked my wife, “when can I get a cell phone?” Son, you are 8 years old. Why do you need a cellphone? “Because everyone in my class has one”, he says. At what age do we begin to let kids get absorbed into the never ending world of technology? In this day in age, we need to do all that we can to keep kids active and off of electronic devices. A cell phone certainly wouldn’t help this plan, especially at 8 years old. My wife and I, of course, will discuss the issue and make a decision from there. We have pretty much decided against it all ready, but we should begin talking about what age is appropriate ad what else will he grow into as he begins to slither out of our protective arms.

From → Parenting

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

